top of page

Paul M. Erwin Music Scholarship

Paul M. Erwin (1966-2014) was a talented composer, arranger, and musician who was born and raised in Vermont. During his short lifetime, he premiered over 200 arrangements and original works. Erwin was a vital part of the New Hampshire seacoast music community and served as the conductor of the Seacoast Wind Ensemble (SWE) from 1993 to 2006. The SWE scholarship program is named in Erwin’s honor and supports young musicians in the ME-NH-MA seacoast region and Rutland County, VT.

Information About the Scholarship:


Description and Guidelines 

Accepting applications starting on January 15


The scholarship is available to high school students residing in the ME-NH-MA seacoast region and Rutland County, VT. It aims to support musical pursuits such as attending music camps, purchasing new instruments or equipment, taking music lessons, or paying for tuition. The application deadline is March 26th, and the award(s) will be announced in April or May. The recipients will be publicly recognized at a summer concert in the seacoast region and will be invited to perform with the ensemble during the concert.



  • Current, entering, or graduating high school students

  • Must play a wind, brass, or percussion instrument

  • Must be a resident of one of the following counties: 

    • Rockingham County (NH)

    • Strafford County (NH)

    • Essex County (MA)

    • York County (ME)

    • Rutland County (VT)


Application Process: 
Link to online application

  • Complete an online application, which includes:

    • A ~300 word statement from student re: intended use of scholarship

    • A ~300 word statement from student re: why student should be selected

  • Send one (1) letter of recommendation from music teacher (private or school)


Important Dates:

  • Applications begin being accepted: January 15 

  • Applications and letters of recommendation due by 11:59pm, March 26

  • Notification of award will be made in April/May

  • Publicly awarded at June/July seacoast concert


If you have questions about SWE's scholarship program, please contact 

Michele Boulanger @  




To Donate to the Scholarship program, please follow the link below or mail checks payable to "Seacoast Wind Ensemble" to:

PO Box 734

Kittery, ME 03904

2016 Scholarship Donors:

American Legion Family of Castleton VT
Emily Douglas 

Larry Douglas

Judith Howard

Janet Polk

2020 Paul M. Erwin Scholarship Recipient
Brandon Berube


Brandon Berube has played tenor trombone for 9 years, A resident of Merrimac, MA, he attends Pentucket Regional High School in West Newbury, MA. He is very involved in his school’s music program, participating in concert band, chorus, orchestra,  musical theater pit band, jazz big band, and jazz combo. He also has been selected for junior and senior district bands, as well as The Spartans Drum and Bugle Corp with DCI (Drum Corp International), which he traveled with for three years. In 2019, they won the DCI open class world championship, with a show in which he had the honor of being a featured trombone soloist. Brandon will being attending the Schulich School of Music at McGill in Montreal Canada this fall, majoring in B.Mus Performance in classical trombone. 

2020 Paul M. Erwin Scholarship Recipient
Emily L'Heureux

Emily L’Heureux is a senior at Kennebunk High School in Kennebunk, Maine. She has been playing the clarinet and bass clarinet for nine years, and will continue to play while pursuing a degree in music education. She is very involved in music at her high school, as the President of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, the Assistant Director of Bands and the Chamber Choir, and the clarinet section leader. She also participates in her school’s jazz band as the bari sax player, plays bass clarinet in the Portland Youth Wind Ensemble, plays in the pit orchestra for school productions, and has participated in Districts Band and Choir as well as the All-State Festivals. When Emily isn’t playing, she enjoys composing music, swimming, reading, writing, and going to the beach with her Newfoundland.


2020 Paul. M. Erwin Scholarship Recipient
Jayden Demers


Jadyn Demers, a junior at Spaulding High School, is so thankful to be receiving such a generous scholarship. In hopes to continue performing as a pit orchestra musician, they have developed skills in bassoon, saxophone, and other woodwinds such as the clarinet. With a focus on bassoon over the past few years, they have participated in a number of great experiences such as two years at the New Hampshire All-State Chamber Festival, NH All-State Festival, BYSO, SYMS, and the Strafford Wind Symphony. Their favorite experience so far has been performing on Reed 5 in the pit orchestra for Spaulding’s production of The Music Man. As a member of Spaulding’s Music Department, they have taken part in concert band, jazz band, marching band, percussion ensemble, chorus, select choir, and pit orchestra. When they’re not practicing, you can find them composing, arranging, or outside with a good book! 

2020 Paul M. Erwin Scholarship Recipient
Justin Livingston

Justin Livingston is a senior at Timberlane Regional High School in Plaistow, New Hampshire. He has been playing percussion with a focus on drum set since the fifth grade. At Timberlane he participates in a number of ensembles including the jazz band, concert band, marching band, percussion ensemble, and orchestra. He is also the percussion section leader and president of the band. In addition to playing at school, Justin plays with the Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra and the New Hampshire Philharmonic Orchestra.  Justin has participated as a top scorer for both Classical All State and Jazz All State, and he received the honor of playing in the All National Honor Ensembles Modern Band last November in Orlando, Florida. Justin attended Berklee’s Aspire 5-Week Summer program in 2019 as well. This fall, Justin will be attending Berklee College of Music where he plans to major in Music Production & Engineering with a minor in Music Business and continue his drum set studies.


Previous Recipients of the Paul M. Erwin Scholarship

2015: Sarah Hashem 

2016: Rebecca Hotz

2017: Emma Lunny

2018: Alaina Smith

2019: Allie Ross & Juli Ennis

bottom of page